Upcoming Events

Date & Time:

Feb 1, 2022
Feb 1st: start time 3pm Pacific | 6pm EDT | 10am AEDT | 11pm UTC

Location:

VARIANT EFFECTS SEMINAR SERIES (VESS)

BBI Event - VARIANT EFFECTS SEMINAR SERIES (VESS)

A trainee-led seminar series sponsored by the Atlas of Variant Effects Alliance

In this series, trainees from around the globe share and discuss their research related to interpreting human genetic variation.

When is it?

1st Tuesdays of each month (rotating times)

We have members from around the globe (multiple time zones), so monthly meeting times will rotate

Our inaugural seminar was Tuesday, September 7th, 2021

Our seminars are free and open to the public

Who presents:

Students, postdocs, and new faculty (<1 year in position)

If you are interested in presenting or would like to recommend someone, please fill out this online > SPEAKER NOMINATION FORM

What is the format?

1hr long virtual meetings (zoom)

Each month 2 presenters discuss their work in 20 min talks, followed by lively Q&A sessions

Questions from the audience can be asked using chat or QA during the webinar

AVE members can also follow / continue conversations on our VESS AVE Slack Channel (#variant-effects-seminar-series)

Who can attend?

Our meetings are over Zoom and anyone is welcome to attend.

We use the webinar format, but participants can ask the speaker questions using the chat or QA

Do you need to be a member of AVE to attend?

Anyone can attend. However, if you are interested in becoming a member, Please sign up > HERE

Are the talks recorded?

If speakers consent, the recordings will be publicly available on our affiliate >CMAP Youtube channel

You can also find a list of previous speakers and talks > HERE

Where can I find the zoom link?

Here! > VESS ZOOM LINK

Past Events

Dec 7, 2021

VARIANT EFFECTS SEMINAR SERIES (VESS)

In this series, trainees from around the globe share and discuss their research related to interpreting human genetic variation.

Read More

Dec 7, 2021

BBI Data Analysis Tutorial

The BBI bioinformatics team is hosting a Monocle 3 tutorial/training to help you navigate your single-cell RNA-seq data.

Read More

Nov 2, 2021

Variant Effects Seminar Series

Trainee-led Seminar Series sponsored by the Atlas of Variant Effects Alliance

Read More

Oct 5, 2021

BBI’s Danny Miller Conducting Seminar on Long-Read Sequencing using Nanopore Platform

BBI’s Dr. Danny Miller will conduct a seminar on long-read genome sequencing on the Nanopore platform and how it can help researchers across the Institute

Read More

Sep 30, 2021

Mutate Everything

Ben Lehner presents 'Mutate Everything' as part of the Donnelly Center Speaker Series

Read More

Sep 16, 2021

Dr. Doug Fowler to Address NHGRI Seminar on ‘Bold Predictions for Human Genomics by 2030’

BBI’s Dr. Doug Fowler will be a featured speaker September 16 at a National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI) seminar on “Bold Predictions for Human Genomics by 2030.”

Read More